5 Questions With… Mez

Local hip hop artist, clothing designer and director Mez shares what it’s like to be back in Raleigh for the Dreamville Festival.
As told to Ayn-Monique Klahre

This weekend, Dorothea Dix Park will host the first annual Dreamville Festival, a showcase of musical talent (plus food, art and more) curated by North Carolina-native J. Cole. There are a bunch of big names in there, but there’s one act that locals will be most excited about: Mez, a Raleigh native known for singles “Monte Carlo” and “Long Live the King” and collaborations like Dr. Dre’s Compton album and J. Cole’s “Middle Child” music video. We caught up with the artist on the phone in between appearances at Social Status, CAM and visits to his hometown friends and relatives. Here’s what he told us.

Photo courtesy Dreamville Festival

Where’d you grow up?
I grew up in southeast Raleigh, on Barwell Road in Chastain—not where the tech companies are! I graduated from Garner Senior High School, which I think they tore down, because now there are north and south garner high schools. Everything changes so quickly, that was just about 10 years ago.

Did you always know you’d be a musician?