5 Questions with Country music star Priscilla Block

Born and raised in Raleigh, this singer-songwriter is headlining a European tour for her album Welcome to the Block Party this fall.
As told to Ayn-Monique Klahre

Photograph by Joseph Wasilewski

From classic country fare (see: whisky, heartbreak) to her viral song with a cheeky message about body positivity, there’s a strong chance you’ve heard of Priscilla Block. The North Raleigh native moved to Nashville right after graduating from Leesville High School. There, a chance encounter with Taylor Swift gave her the momentum to rev up her career. We check in with her on the cusp of her European tour for Welcome to the Block Party.

How’d you get started in music?

My neighbor was a piano teacher, that’s how it started. But I was a terrible piano student. I never practiced! But then I ended up finding a guitar in our attic and I started teaching myself to play through YouTube. It brough my joy to play it, where piano always seemed like a chore. My mom really wanted me to be involved in music, so she pushed me — she said if I could just find something that excited me, she’d support it. I loved that I could take the guitar with me everywhere.

Then I started writing songs when I was about 15. I wrote about the typical high school stuff, navigating through those years, the first crushes and little heartbreaks. The sort of stuff I would write in my diary turn into songs. Then my first gigs were at the Caribou Coffee on Brier Creek. I played at Sola a lot— I’d play anywhere they’d let me play! I performed all over Raleigh and Clayton, I played a lot with a guy named Johnny Orr who would just let me follow him around and hop on stage. Then right after high school I just packed up some of my stuff and threw it into my Chevy Malibu and moved to Nashville.

Photograph by Logen Christopher

What did your parents think?