5 Questions With: Instagram Fashion Influencer Matthew Coppedge

The North Carolina native behind Commandments of Style shares what’s it’s like to build a social sphere of influence.
As told to Ayn-Monique Klahre

Instagram influencer Matthew Coppedge wasn’t always a model: In fact, the Fayettevile-born UNC grad was not particularly stylish as a kid, despite his desire to become a model. Fast-forward to his 40s, and in just over three years he’s grown his Instagram persona, Commandments of Style, to more than 35,000 followers through a mix of his signature stylish suits and silver fox looks. We hopped on the phone with him to learn what it’s like to be the face of brands like Brooks Brothers, Ford Motors and more.

courtesy Matthew Coppedge

I understand that you weren’t always an influencer. How’d you get on this track?
After college and graduate school I worked in marketing and communications, doing a lot of work around the revitalization of downtown Durham. It involved a lot of PR and public speaking. About three and a half years ago, my friends urged me to start a style-focused Instagram account. I’d seen other guys doing things like that, and I’d always had an interest in modeling, in fact I didn’t even try modeling until I was 36 years old. I started with photos of shoes on the floor, those kinds of things, then more casual looks. But I found that the three-piece suits got more likes than the others, and it turns out that my grey hair and youngish face work well in the luxury market.

How did it turn into an actual job?