On the Rise: Raleigh Educator’s Artful Sourdough Becomes an Instagram Sensation

A Raleigh educator’s passion for sourdough turned her into a social media star
by: Addie Ladner / photography by Taylor McDonald

“My most natural state is when I’m a student,” says Hannah Page.

The Mississippi native went through early college at Millsaps, got a Master’s of Arts in Teaching at Duke University, then attended the University of Georgia to study public administration. Today, she’s a community liaison and history teacher at Raleigh Charter — where she unexpectedly became a student of sourdough.

It happened when a coworker gifted her a Dutch oven for a wedding gift. Inside was a handwritten recipe card for a crusty bread. She made it, and she was hooked. “I fell in love with that method, then read more about bread baking and everything was saying to create a sourdough starter,” she says. She made two starters, started documenting her progress, and, in the midst of the pandemic, found herself an Instagram sensation.

HOW DID BAKING BECOME A HOBBY?

I started baking every day. I’d bring a loaf to work and share with my co-workers or friends. It’s one of my favorite things in the world, somewhat of an addiction. I’m an introvert and sourdough baking is the perfect hobby for someone who doesn’t mind being at home. It’s not necessarily a lot of hand

DO YOU STILL BAKE EVERY DAY?

In the early days, I was. Then I wasn’t, but since the pandemic, I’m back to that. It’s a way to connect and take care of my friends and community now. Since I’m splitting my time between school and Zooming — a new, different part of my job — I try to fit it in early. I’m a naturally early riser, so I get up around 5 a.m. and bake just about every day.

IS THIS PART OF YOUR DAILY RITUAL?

Yes, I am a ritual person, definitely. It’s a stress reliever, tactile in all different stages. Each one offers something different: folding, scoring, mixing, cutting, making designs.